Board index Fish Talk Other Fish Info on tank keeping

Info on tank keeping

Stop in here for talk on fish not listed above.

Moderator: Moderators

Post Sun Sep 18, 2011 5:59 pm
chefb_5 Level 5 Member
Level 5 Member

I'm kinda new to fresh water I do own fresh water and I do know the basics, but I really need help on what I should do as far as makeing tank cleaning easyer? I would like to know how I can keep the gravel from stinking and water cleaner without having to really take all the gravel out and 50gallons of water out every mounth. Pleas help me that would me whole lot happer and less stressed out. I hate trying to figure out whts the best way to clean and what i need on the web because its hard to really know what is right or wrong and keeping my tank less complacated.

Post Sun Sep 18, 2011 6:36 pm
Vashjir User avatar
Level 9 Member
Level 9 Member

Vacuuming the gravel with each partial water change should be all it needs. I do weekly 20-25% changes and try to vacuum 1/3 of the gravel bed each weekly change so that the whole thing gets done more than once a month. Do you use an undergravel filter? With the ug filter you should have about 2 inches of gravel, without an ug filter you should have no more than 1 inch of substrate (unless VERY heavily planted).
The other thing that will keep algae down is to put some plants in the tank, even lowlight plants soak up nitrates fairly quickly and extend the time you can go between water changes.

You should never have to remove gravel from the tank.
Phil

MAS Promotions Chair
Bowl Show Chair
Board Member
phil.s.marlow@gmail.com

Post Sun Sep 18, 2011 7:48 pm
chefb_5 Level 5 Member
Level 5 Member

I have and Oscar fish so I cant have any plants. How well does the undergravel fitler work? Is it even going to help that much? I don't have any alge it's just that the water stinks like a skunk. Do I need a canister filter system? i have a Empire 400 biowhell filter system. I did shipon every inch of it, but still smells.